Source It Baby! – Pt. 1- Starting Out With CrowdSource

So, I started my CrowdSource journey today and so far I am pretty pleased! I worked up a quick video discussing the site, their bonus system, and my initial impressions. Check it out below:

The reason I am a history major and why I toyed around with the idea of becoming a librarian is that I really enjoying researching things, being able to answer people’s questions, and to drop knowledge on y’all. In this way, CrowdSource is perfect for me! I first did a few questions that took me a while to research and try to find the perfect answer and then….I noticed all the Pokémon questions. Aw yis, here we go, something I already knew answers to and knew just where to go to find the sources to back up my knowledge.

I will now be making my livelihood telling people what Shiny Pokemon are.

I will now be making my livelihood telling people what Shiny Pokémon are.

 I did a total of 15 jobs today, for a pending total of over $40 with the first bonus, and I’m going to wait and see what kind of feedback I get before I do some more. I’ll be keeping you all updated and let you know how the approval process goes, how stable the question pool is, and any other quirks of the site that I encounter along the way. As always, feel free to leave any comments or suggestions here or on the YouTube video! I’m always eager to try out some new sites too, so if you know of any places that I could check out and review then do leave those below!

Cheers,

KHM

 

8 thoughts on “Source It Baby! – Pt. 1- Starting Out With CrowdSource

  1. Lia says:

    This was an excellent read and your video was awesome because it shows what the user interface is like. I have been following your adventures for a few weeks now (starting working on mTurk after you checked it out) and I really have to thank you for all the clear and well written information about different sites. I found everything to be very helpful. I just sent in my own CrowdSource writing sample, so I can only hope it works out for me half as well as it has worked out for you. Please keep us updated 🙂

    • Thanks for the kind words, Lia! Glad to know the posts have been helpful to you. I’ve been a bit sick the last week or so, but I do have a Crowdsource update in the works. I’ll try to get it out by the middle of next week, at least, so stay tuned!

    • Hi Deepak. If would guess you are talking about the non-writing tasks that CrowdSource posts? If so, I have the same problem. They only allow each user to do one or a few everyday. I’m not really sure what the reasoning behind this is other than to prevent people from abusing the system. You might want to try signing up on CrowdSource.com to see if you can do more than one task per day through their site, rather than MTurk? Sorry I couldn’t be of more help!

Leave a comment